c o m m e m o r a t i v e

| home |

| africa | america | asia | east asia | europe | oceania | south east asia |

| COMMEMORATIVE | hybrid | polymer | australia |

. . . . list of anniversary names . . . .

| a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | x | y | z |

Total commemorative banknotes issued is under 1,500 pieces. If you have achieved any figures close to this, then you are doing extremely well, as many of the older commemorative notes are hard to find even in poor conditions.

Opinion: Many collectors of commemorative banknotes would have come across with those Somaliland sets overprinted with gold and silver texts with the following wordings - 5th Anniversary of Independence 18 May 1996 [Sanad Gurade 5ee Gobanimadda 18 May 1996]. I believe these are "home made" (or fake) and not authorised by the central bank. My argument is simple. No central bank would have issued an overprint commemorative banknote that the texts are so large that it would cover the two signatures on the note as well as part of the serial numbers. Even if these are genuine notes, then these could be issued as souvenir sheets and not as legal tender. As I said before, this is my opinion. If you have paid top dollars for these, please think about my argument. There is always a sucker around the corner, including me of course!

All comments are most welcome but it has to be subjects related to banknotes or banknotes collection. If not, it will not be approved. Thanks

24 August 2019

...Papua New Guinea - 100 Kina APEC Commemorative 2018

Papua Niu Gini
Papua New Guinea

Bank of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea hosted the 2018 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum between 17-18 November 2018 in it's capital city, Port Moresby. A total of 21 nations in the Asia and Pacific region (Pacific Rim) attended this annual meeting. In addition to these, 13 leaders and representatives of the Pacific Island nations* in the Pacific region were also invited to this meeting. Whilst APEC meetings first started in 1989 and were held in Canberra Australia, this is the first time Papua New Guinea had hosted this event. The main purpose of APEC is to create greater prosperity among its members.

The current 21 members of APEC are - Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea (host 2018), Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United States and Vietnam. It has a combined population of 2.6 billion or more than one third of the world's population.

To commemorate this special event, the Bank of Papua New Guinea issued a 100 Kina ND2018. The design of the note is the same as the current 100 Kina polymer note but with the APEC logo added to the top right corner of the note. In addition to this, the main design has been slightly altered as follows; -

1) The height of the note has been reduced from 151mm x 75mm to 151mm x 71mm;
2) The two Birds of Paradise are now a see-through feature and golden rolling colour effects are also added around the see-through window on both sides of the note. 

The signatures on the note are - Loi Martin Bakani (Bank Governor) and Dairi Vele (Secretary, Department of Treasury). It should also be noted that Papua New Guinea has been releasing commemorative banknotes using existing or current designs since 1991.

This is the first time a commemorative banknote has been issued to commemorate this APEC meeting since 1989. The next APEC meeting will be held in Santiago Chile on 16-17 November 2019 and then in Malaysia in 2020. This will be Malaysia's second time hosting this forum.

One Hundred Kina
Note *
Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Nations in the Asia and Pacific region/rim who are not a member are: Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Macau, Nicaragua, North Korea and Panama. To be a member of APEC, the nation's geographical location needs to have a pacific border situated between Asia and America. Other nations which do not share a common geographical location can still apply to be a member. Cambodia has applied to be a member of APEC and is awaiting approval. India has also applied to be a member but was not successful. Other countries have also shown their interest in joining and they are Mongolia, Laos, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Costa Rica, Panama, Ecuador and Colombia.

No comments:

Post a Comment