591 pieces and counting

there are approximately 850+ pieces of Commemorative banknotes issued, excluding those repeats

| home |

| africa | america | asia | east asia | europe | oceania | south east asia |

| COMMEMORATIVE | hybrid | polymer | australia |

. . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .

| a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | x | y | z |

Total commemorative banknotes issued is about 750 pieces (give or take). If you have achieved any figures close to this, then you are doing extremely well, as many of the older commemorative notes are hard to find in any conditions.

01 May 2017

Swaziland - 20 Emalangeni 1989 King Mswati lll 21st Birthday Commemorative

This note was issued to celebrate King Mswati ll 21st birthday. The design of this note is the same as P16 but with the following commemorative text added to the watermark area; -

"His Majesty King Mswati lll 19.4.68-19.4.89."

Twenty Emalangeni
Dated 1989, P17a

02 April 2017

Barbados - $50 1996 - 2016 50th Year of Independence

Barbados 50th Anniversary of Independence (30.11.1966). This note was issued on 21.11.2016. The design of this note is the same at those first issued in 2013 (P77), featuring the portrait of Errol Walton Barrow (1920-1987) except that the 50th Independence logo is added to the design on the top right hand corner. The decision to have this note for this independence commemorative is very appropriate too as Errol Barrow was the father of the nation. He was the Premier of Barbados when he led the country to independence from United Kingdom in 1966. The Errol Barrow day, his actual birthday, is also celebrated annually on January 21st since 1989. It seems that they must have this note in mind for this purpose when they designed this back in 2013. This note bears the signature of the Governor Dr Delisle Worrell.

Barbados was the fourth English speaking nation in the West Indies to achieve independence from the United Kingdom, after Jamaica (6.8.1962), Trinidad and Tobago (31.8.1962) and British Guiana (now Guyana 26.5.1966).

Barbados dollar is pegged to the United States Dollar at B$1 = US$0.50. Obviously this note is worth US$25.00 at face value.

The note is dated 30.11.2016 and was released into circulation on 21.11.2016. The serial number for this issue commenced with prefix J30 with number 100001 as the first note. The note that I have posted here is considered as low serial numbered note. I wonder if the center bank retains any of their notes for their archive purposes. Even if they do, I believe it's not many and I have my reasons to say that.

Fifty Dollars
Dated 2016, P79
This is the fourth commemorative banknote issued by the Central Bank of Barbados. The previous three issues were all related to the Central Bank's anniversaries. This is the only note that celebrates the nation's independence.

Previous commemorative notes issued were: -

$100 -  1997 25th Anniversary of Central Bank of Barbados (general circulation);
$5 - 2002 30th Anniversary of Central Bank of Barbados (1000 sets issued at B$7.50 each);
$40 - 2012 40th Anniversary of Central Bank of Barbados (general circulation);

12 March 2017

Kazakhstan - 10,000 Tenge 2016 25th Independence Commemorative

This is a commemorative note issued on 1.12.2016 celebrating the country's 25th Independence. On 16.12.1991, Kazakhstan declared it's independence from the Soviet Union. The reverse of the note depicts the portrait of Nursultan Abishuly Nazarbayev, who is the President of Kazakhstan since independence.

Ten Thousand Tenge
Dated 2016

08 March 2017

Gibraltar - £100 Polymer Commemorative 2015(2017)

The release of this note was first announced by the Chief Minister Fabian Picardo of Gibraltar on 18.08.2015. This commemorative note, dated 21.08.2015, honoured the centenary of the birth of Sir Joshua Hassan aka Salvador (Saviour) (b.21.8.1915-1.7.1997). Salvador was known as the Father of Modern Modern Gibraltar and was the first and third Chief Minister of Gibraltar for 22 years. He was also accredited as being the most important architect of Gibraltar's more towards self-determination. This commemorative is printed on polymer material with a portrait of the Queen printed on one side and the image of Sir Joshua on the other. This note was released on 23.01.2017. Gibraltar is now the first in Europe and among few other nations to have issued currencies in Paper material, Hybrid and now Polymer. Other countries that have done this are Fiji, Solomon Islands, Samoa and Papua New Guinea. However only Gibraltar and Papua New Guinea have issued them with same denominations ie £100 and 100 Kina respectively.

It is reported that 250,000 pieces printed. However, it was also reported that those notes printed with serial number above C250000 are replacement.

Albert Mena (signature on the note) is the current Financial Secretary and Commissioner of Currency of Gibraltar.

One Hundred Pounds
Dated 2015
One Hundred Pounds
Dated 2015